Tableau

At first I went and filtered all of the library’s in the dataset to see what type of wifi they offer. Later I found out that all of them were in fact “free” so that question didn’t really get me anywhere.

How does the wifi in lower-income communities compare/contrast to higher income communities?

Hypothesis: lower-income communities have more free than free-based wifi.


Since our data is structured around zip codes I filtered in the zip on the marks and chose to layer the map by zip and household income. I also added place names to this layer. I filtered the type of wifi by color and noticed a lot more blue dots than I did orange dots (free-based:blue, free:orange). After looking at the breakdown of household income I noticed there are two areas that were of the lowest income: the Bronx and Brooklyn. Within these lower income cities I thought that there might be more free than free based wifi locations.

Tableau Map of wifi type vs. income

image

I decided to filter in the names of the locations on the map in the marks tab to take a look at the few locations that were actually free on the map (not just within these lower income cities). It was annoying that I had to click on each dot in order to see what it was though. I found that the libraries, a few cafe’s/lounge’s, a bar, a FedEx kinkos, and a condominium complex were among the free locations on the map.

After thinking about these few free locations I realized that it does make sense no matter what the income is in these areas. Again Starbucks’ and other higher end businesses are typically in the higher income areas, but I thought it might be different. However it does make since that the majority of the business’s are free-based because it wouldn’t be right to just go in and use a place’s wifi without actually buying something there or being there for another reason other than their wifi right? I noticed that the higher income areas of the map are heavily populated with free-based wifi as well. Again, there are a lot of free-based places in the lower income areas but the higher income areas like Manhattan are more populated with more of those type of businesses.

I think it would be interesting if we were able to see the populations of these areas or the frequency of the use of wifi at certain types of businesses (both free and free-based). I did Google the population of these places: as of 2013, the Bronx has 1.4 million people, Brooklyn: 2.5 million, Manhattan:1.6 million, and New York City: 8.4 million. Out of these cities the Bronx and Brooklyn are of mainly lower income, and NYC and Manhattan are of higher income. There is a mass amount of tight-knit dots within the two higher income and more heavily populated cities, which makes sense to me. I chose to look at this information by filtering the number of records into the size option in the marks box. You’re able to see how many locations are in which area by the size of the dot. If you click on each dot it gives you the number of records.

Tableau Map of Records

image

Furthermore, I realized the type of wifi that is offered has nothing to do with where you live, and has everything to do with what type of businesses you live by. It’s all about the location of these places. Obviously if you live out in the Bronx near the NYC Public Library locations you’re going to use their free wifi. On the other hand, if you live in the busy streets of Manhattan you’re going to be surrounded by a ton of businesses that offer free-based wifi, so just be prepared to get out your wallet and their so-called “free-based” wifi will be “free” to use.

Overall this mapping tool is very interesting. A lot can come out of it if you have the right data. The most frustrating thing was not being able to filter or mark the data as you wanted. For example, I kept wanting to color code the groups of libraries and Starbucks’ and McDonald’s etc. but it couldn’t differentiate between them. I’m looking forward to see if there is a way we could use it for our final project.

Problems: I had a lot of difficulties saving my second map on Tableau to the web. I kept getting an error that said “invalid database name value”. After two days and a million attempts to save I finally just reopened the excel workbook of the data and renamed it as something else. I then went back to Tableau, opened the newly named data, recreated my map and I was able to save it then. My screenshots were also coming up with errors every time I tried to add them into this post. I kept getting an error that said “try again later”. After hours of frustration I then just decided to message myself my screenshots, save them on my phone, log onto WordPress, and upload them that way instead of on my laptop.

2 thoughts on “Tableau

  1. I also had trouble with my screen shots. I couldn’t get them to save as Jpegs. They kept saving as something called a tiff. I had no idea how to fix it, so I uploaded a picture taken on my phone. Lower quality, but it did the job.

    Like

  2. Think about the arrangement of your blog post here–the first paragraph is difficult to understand because I’m not sure why you were filtering libraries in the first place and then why it didn’t work out for you. I think you could work on clarity in your post–I was a bit lost as to why you wanted to use the filtering function until you started talking about some of your conclusions. Write some more about why you’re making particular decisions, what they showed you, and how they influenced later decisions about procedure or research questions. If understood you correctly, I’m pretty sure there is a way to color code businesses–I can explain that to you in class if you’d like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

